Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Old Tom man of mystery.

By: Hobbs, Leigh.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Sydney : ABC Books, 2003ISBN: 0-7333-1247-0; 9781877003530 (pbk).Subject(s): Premiers' Reading Challenge : P-2 | Cats
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item reserves
Junior St Albans Library (DIY)
Picture Book H Available IA1613157
Junior Keilor Library (DIY)
Picture Book H Available IA1613149
Junior Sydenham Library (DIY)
Picture Book H Available IA1613131
Total reserves: 0

Reviews provided by Syndetics

School Library Journal Review

K-Gr 2-Angela Throgmorton is tired of doing all of the housework so she makes up a list of chores for her quirky and spoiled-rotten orange cat. Old Tom, of course, will have none of it and feigns illness. While he is supposedly recuperating in bed, he dons a disguise and emerges as The Man of Mystery and steals a cake that Angela has just baked and watches TV. That night the woman hears footsteps and follows The Man of Mystery around the neighborhood and city. Even though Old Tom gets busted, Angela forgives him in the end and still thinks she can get him to help out around the house. As in Old Tom's Holiday (Peachtree, 2004), the text tells a simple story but the brightly colored cartoon illustrations provide laugh-out-loud humor. Fans of Harry Allard and Dav Pilkey should enjoy this title.-Linda M. Kenton, San Rafael Public Library, CA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Horn Book Review

Angela Throgmorton decides that her thuggish cat Old Tom is old enough to start helping around the house. She writes out a long list of chores, but he pretends to be sick, dons his man-of-mystery costume, then sneaks out, seeking adventure. The softness of the simple text confusingly contrasts with the harsh expressions of the characters in the bold cartoon illustrations. (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.

Kirkus Book Review

Angela Throgmorton has had it with lazy Old Tom. She makes a long list of chores her feline companion can do to help around the house. When she presents it to him, he falls ill. Taking him at his word, she tucks him in and does some chores herself. Awakened in the night by mysterious footsteps, Angela follows a strangely familiar figure through the city. When she deduces the identity of the . . . er, man in the mask, she lies in wait for him at home. Angela can never stay mad at Old Tom for long, and she makes him breakfast in bed. After all, he'll need his strength to tackle the long list of chores. Published two years ago in Australia, Old Tom's second American outing lacks some of the charm of the first, Old Tom's Holiday (2004). Still, the deadpan delivery and squiggly, almost drunken illustrations are back, and fans who loved the first will enjoy this. It just might not win Tom any new ones. (Picture book. 4-9) Copyright ©Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Powered by Koha