Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Lost empire / Clive Cussler with Grant Blackwood.

By: Cussler, Clive, 1931-.
Contributor(s): Blackwood, Grant.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Fargo adventures. Publisher: New York : G. P. Putnam's Sons, c2010Description: 402 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780399156762 (hbk); 9780399156762 (hbk).Other title: Lost empire : a Fargo adventure.Subject(s): Treasure troves -- Fiction | Relics -- FictionDDC classification: 813.6 Summary: Through Tanzania and Zanzibar, into the rainforests of Madagascar, and across the Indian Ocean to Indonesia and the legendary site of the 1883 Krakatoa explosion, husband-and-wife treasure-hunting team Sam and Remi Fargo and their ruthless opponents pursue the hunt for a relic--but only one can win. And the penalty for failure is death.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item reserves
Default Deer Park Library
Fiction CUSS Available I6617627
Total reserves: 0

Through Tanzania and Zanzibar, into the rainforests of Madagascar, and across the Indian Ocean to Indonesia and the legendary site of the 1883 Krakatoa explosion, husband-and-wife treasure-hunting team Sam and Remi Fargo and their ruthless opponents pursue the hunt for a relic--but only one can win. And the penalty for failure is death.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

No. 1 New York Times best-selling author Cussler, coauthor Blackwood, and Audie Award-winning narrator Scott Brick (see Behind the Mike, LJ 10/15/09) are a match made in audio heaven. Brick once again delivers a witty and suspenseful presentation in the authors' second entertaining adventure to feature husband-and-wife globe-trotting treasure hunters Sam and Remi Fargo, following Spartan Gold (2009), also available from Books on Tape/Penguin Audio. This time, the Fargos make a startling discovery off the coast of Tanzania that could potentially bring down a powerful government and rewrite history. There are enough thrills, action, and hissable villains here to keep listeners utterly hooked. Very highly recommended for all. [The Penguin Audio abridged edition is read by Richard Poe; for a different take on the Putnam hc, see LJ Xpress Reviews 7/30/10; the third title in this series, The Kingdom, is scheduled for a June 2011 release.-Ed.]-Joseph L. Carlson, Vandenberg Air Force Base Lib., Lompoc, CA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Publishers Weekly Review

While scuba-diving on the Tanzania coast, Sam and Remi Fargo find a U.S. Civil War ship's bell engraved with Aztec hieroglyphs. Recovering it and discovering its provenance becomes irresistible-especially when they realize someone is desperate to conceal its secrets. From Africa through North America to Asia, the Fargos race to stay ahead of their ruthless pursuers. Narrator Scott Brick continues to keep Cussler's escapades light entertainment; having narrated the previous books in the series, Brick is now part and parcel of the Cussler audiobook fan's continued enjoyment-and essential in ratcheting up the tension and excitement as needed. A Putnam hardcover (Reviews, Aug. 2). (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

This is the second installment (after Spartan Gold, 2009) of Cussler's action-packed new series featuring husband-and-wife treasure-hunters Sam and Remi Fargo, a spunky Nick and Nora for the twenty-first century. Scuba diving off the coast of East Africa, the couple discovers a bell, covered in cryptic carvings, from a long-lost Confederate warship. While they struggle to decode the clues found on the bell, a sinister faction is shadowing them in hopes of also discovering the secret to which the clues lead. Unlike the Fargos, this group does not want the secret uncovered and will kill to keep it hidden, as the discovery would result in a rewrite of the history books. In his inimitable way, Cussler throws everything into the pot: Confederate warships, the Aztecs, the Krakatoa explosion of 1883, pirates, and, in the tradition of Alfred Hitchcock, Cussler himself in a cameo appearance. Blackwood, the coauthor, seems to have brought a breath of fresh air to Cussler's usual testosterone-laced style by toning down the traces of xenophobia and misogyny that often permeate the long-in-the-tooth Dirk Pitt series. HIGH DEMAND BACKSTORY: Fans of Mathew Reilly and James Rollins will revel in this treasure-hunting adventure.--Gannon, Michael Copyright 2010 Booklist

Powered by Koha