Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The comeback / Bernard Taylor.

By: Taylor, Bernard, 1934-.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookCopyright date: ©2016Publisher: London : Duckworth Overlook, 2016Description: 265 pages ; 21 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780715651179 (paperback).Subject(s): Singers -- FictionDDC classification: 823.92 Summary: Rosemary Paul used to be a celebrated singer, but now she is aging and past her prime. Living an isolated life, her only companion is Carrie Markham, her live-in assistant who panders to Rosemary's every need and looks up to her older mentor... When Rosemary hears news from London that one of her albums is getting an unexpected re-release the old hunger for fame and success is reignited, and with Carrie's help she plans her big comeback to relaunch herself into the public stratosphere. But as preparations commence, long buried secrets begin to resurface and signs of strain show in Rosemary and Carrie's relationship, until reaching its dramatic breaking-point... Slowly building its uneasy tension throughout until revealing its shocking twist, The Comeback is an eerie psychological thriller with strong female characters; ideal for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins, it is perfect for book clubs, and will leave readers on the edge of their seats.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item reserves
Default Deer Park Library (DIY)
Fiction TAYL Available IA1301611
Total reserves: 0

"What price would you pay for fame?" -- Cover.

Rosemary Paul used to be a celebrated singer, but now she is aging and past her prime. Living an isolated life, her only companion is Carrie Markham, her live-in assistant who panders to Rosemary's every need and looks up to her older mentor... When Rosemary hears news from London that one of her albums is getting an unexpected re-release the old hunger for fame and success is reignited, and with Carrie's help she plans her big comeback to relaunch herself into the public stratosphere. But as preparations commence, long buried secrets begin to resurface and signs of strain show in Rosemary and Carrie's relationship, until reaching its dramatic breaking-point... Slowly building its uneasy tension throughout until revealing its shocking twist, The Comeback is an eerie psychological thriller with strong female characters; ideal for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins, it is perfect for book clubs, and will leave readers on the edge of their seats.

Powered by Koha