Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The ark plan / Laura Martin.

By: Martin, Laura.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Publisher: New York, NY Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2017Copyright date: ©2016Edition: First paperback edition.Description: 350, 21 pages : illustrations, map ; 20 cm.ISBN: 9780062416230; 0062416235.Subject(s): Survival -- Juvenile fiction | Civilization, Subterranean -- Juvenile fiction | Deception -- Juvenile fiction | Premiers' Reading Challenge : 5-6DDC classification: 813.6 Summary: "One hundred and fifty years ago, the first dinosaurs were cloned. Soon after, they replaced humans at the top of the food chain. The only way to survive was to move into underground compounds. . . . Five years ago, Sky Mundy’s father vanished from North Compound without a trace. Now she has just stumbled on a clue that not only suggests his disappearance is just the tip of an even larger mystery, but also points directly to the surface. To find her dad—and possibly even save the world—Sky and her best friend, Shawn, must break out of their underground home and venture topside to a land reclaimed by nature and ruled by dinosaurs. Perfect for fans of Brandon Mull, Lisa McMann, and Rick Riordan, this exhilarating debut novel follows two courageous friends who must survive in a lost world that’s as dangerous as they’ve always feared but also unlike anything they could ever have imagined." --Publisher's description.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item reserves
Junior Keilor Library
Junior Fiction J MART Available IA1665544
Junior St Albans Library (DIY)
Junior Fiction J MART Available IA1665578
Junior Sunshine Library (DIY)
Junior Fiction J MART Available IA1665560
Junior Deer Park Library
Junior Fiction J MART Available IA1665552
Total reserves: 0

"One hundred and fifty years ago, the first dinosaurs were cloned. Soon after, they replaced humans at the top of the food chain. The only way to survive was to move into underground compounds. . . . Five years ago, Sky Mundy’s father vanished from North Compound without a trace. Now she has just stumbled on a clue that not only suggests his disappearance is just the tip of an even larger mystery, but also points directly to the surface. To find her dad—and possibly even save the world—Sky and her best friend, Shawn, must break out of their underground home and venture topside to a land reclaimed by nature and ruled by dinosaurs. Perfect for fans of Brandon Mull, Lisa McMann, and Rick Riordan, this exhilarating debut novel follows two courageous friends who must survive in a lost world that’s as dangerous as they’ve always feared but also unlike anything they could ever have imagined." --Publisher's description.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-6-Sky Mundy has heard all her life how the Noah saved the citizens of the United States from extinction during the Dinosauria Pandemic, getting them into the old nuclear bomb shelters that were safe from ferocious dinosaurs and the fatal virus they carry. But Sky sees the dark side of the Noah's Marine enforcers. She is singled out because she is an orphan and thus a burden (though she refuses to acknowledge that her father, missing for five years, is dead), and her life is a litany of work details and isolation in the Guardian Wing of the North Compound. Sky desperately hopes for word from her absent father, and finally, on her 12th birthday, her best friend Shawn finds a clue hidden in the compass Sky's father gave her just before he disappeared. With that information, Sky decides it's time to go "topside" to look for her missing dad. Shawn helps her make a daring escape from the compound, and the two discover that the world outside is not as they were led to believe. There are certainly dinosaurs, and most of them are out to make Sky and Shawn dinner. But there are also people living topside, not to mention fresh food and fresh air. In this clever take on Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park, the tale is reimagined on a worldwide scale. The characters are developed, and the postapocalyptic world is well imagined and replete with detail. The plot moves forward briskly, with a few good twists, and the ending sets up neatly for a sequel. Nonstop action, marauding dinosaurs, and kids on the run: What's not to like? VERDICT This is a great buy for the sci-fi adventure-loving crowd.-Gretchen Crowley, Alexandria City Public Libraries, VA © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Booklist Review

Martin takes the premise of Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park (1990) a step further in her debut novel, which is set 150 years after scientists successfully clone dinosaurs, resulting in a world where terrible lizards once more reign supreme. Humans have retreated to underground compounds that are controlled by the Noah and the Ark Plan. Noah wants them to believe people cannot survive topside, but Sky Mundy isn't so sure. Five years ago, her father vanished, leaving behind a note that urges Sky to save humanity by delivering an information port a tabletlike device topside. Accompanied by her friend Shawn, Sky escapes to the surface, where they embark on a harrowing journey filled with danger, dinosaurs, and surprises. Will they deliver the port? Maybe find Sky's dad? Readers may find life in the compound a little dull, but the characters' action-packed adventure above ground makes up for it. A cliff-hanger ending ensures readers will eagerly await the next installment of this exciting new sci-fi series.--Petty, J. B. Copyright 2016 Booklist

Kirkus Book Review

With resurgent dinosaurs roaming the surface, living underground is humanity's only hope for survival. Oris it? A century and a half ago, scientists revived the dinos la Jurassic Park but also brought on a prehistoric pandemic that wiped out 99.9 percent of the human race. Now Sky (a redheaded white girl, judging by the cover art) lives with less than 100 others in a subterranean bunker that, she has always been told, is the only protection from certain death topside. But on her 12th birthday, a letter from her long-missing father arrives, urging her to deliver a certain flash drive to a mysterious location on Lake Michigan. She quickly learns not only that there are people maintaining a precarious existence on the surface, but that she's carrying secrets the supposedly beneficent leaders of her community will kill to suppress. As a budding Katniss Everdeentough, stubborn, resilient, and though new to the bow a quick enough learner by the end to put an arrow through the eye of a ravening spinosaurusSky makes a promising protagonist. Martin pits her against vividly scary foes both scaled and armed with automatic weapons, places her between two quaintly protective guys (one from aboveground, the other below), and sets her on a path that plainly leads to revelations about her family as well as her world. Formulaic but with enough juice in the characters and their relentlessly dangerous setting to keep the story hydrated. (Science fiction. 11-13) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Powered by Koha